sameAs

an exceptional evening of science, technology and your-kind-of-people (the blog)

Bradley Voytek: ‘I’m passionate about healing people.’

with one comment

Today’s sameAs contribution comes from neuroscientist and open science enthusiast Bradley Voytek, sent to us all the way from Berkeley, CA. Bradley’s submission epitomises what we were hoping to draw in with this virtual event – a passion for what he does that’s driven him to push his limits, something that inspires him day in and day out. If that’s not evident from his note to us, I don’t know what is.

Here’s what he sent in. Do check out the video below, as well …

“I’m passionate about the brain. I’ve made this my life. I’m trying to leverage modern technologies to speed research and discovery by searching through millions of peer-reviewed scientific publications to find links between ideas. Simple idea, such as happiness (link)

Or trying to learn how the whole brain is connected. See this image?

That’s every brain region and their interconnections, built from scanning publications.

I’m passionate about healing people. I chose a PhD over an MD because one discovery could potentially help millions, but as a medical doctor I could only treat one person at a time. That’s a gamble I was willing to make.

I gave a talk at TEDxBerkeley about my work on how people recover from stroke. I reach out to the community and blog and tweet about the research I publish.

Video:

We can use technology to do better science to help those who need it.

That’s what I’m passionate about.”

Us too, Bradley – especially your last point there. Thank you.

Remember, it’s not too late to submit your #passion. For more information, visit sameAs.us or check out my latest post and call for video (see, even I can make a video 😉 ). We hope to hear from you.

Written by kaythaney

January 18, 2011 at 4:52 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Tagged with

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] already heard from neuroscientists who love healing people and Googlers who love voltage, but today we take a look at the scientists, technologists, artists, […]


Leave a Reply

